Benefits of the British Airways Executive Club elite status

British Airways (BA)’s frequent flyer programme is called the Executive Club. The British Airways Executive Club has four different tiers. Starting with Blue, and up the ranks from Bronze, Silver, and Gold. What are the benefits of British Airways Executive Club and is it worth it? In this blog, we outline the benefits of each tier. Don’t forget to read our blog on what you need to achieve each tier!

As you’d expect, you get more benefits as you progress up the tiers. Getting there will depend on how frequently you fly on BA or their partners airlines (oneworld alliance). To gain elite status, you’ll have to earn a minimum amount of Tier points and fly a number of Eligible flights. These are different from the reward currency the airline uses, which are known as Avios.

What are the benefits for each tier?

The number of benefits you get as a member increases as you move up the different tiers. The table below outlines the different benefits for the tiers.

There are minimal discernable benefits to warrant aiming for Bronze status if you’re not a frequent traveller. However, you’ll start seeing real tangilble benefits once you’ve reached Silver and Gold status.

With Silver or Gold you’ll start to see the benefits of travelling in premium cabins while travelling in Economy e.g. access to the Business or First class lounges, selecting a seat at the time of booking, priority boarding, and priority check-ins.

We have outlined whether British Airways Executive Club Gold or Silver status is worth it in a separate blog, and concluded that it’s worth achieving if you’re a frequent traveller on BA or the oneworld alliance.

oneworld alliance

oneworld partner airlines

The benefits of having status on BA’s frequent flyer programme extends to oneworld partner airlines.

Bronze = Ruby
Silver = Sapphire
Gold = Emerald

There are 13 airlines within the oneworld alliance, and you can earn Avios and Tier points on any partner airlines. The benefits are reciprocated on other oneworld partners including priority boarding and access to airport lounges (Silver and above). So, if you’re travelling on Malaysia Airlines in Economy Class and you have Gold status on British Airways Executive Club, you get all the benefits of being a oneworld Emerald member. This includes using the Malaysia Airlines airport lounges, priority boarding, and check-in.

BG1 tips on maximising your tier points

Add a transit stop-over with partner airlines: If you’re flying long-haul, consider using partner airlines to include a stop-over. A direct flight from London to Bangkok on BA will earn you 280 tier points in Business Class.

While including a stop-over via Doha on Qatar Airways in Business Class will earn you a whopping 560 tier points for the return journey. That’s nearly enough tier points to gain Silver status.

Consider the minimum long-haul flight: You get more Tier points by flying on long-haul flights and a 4-5 hour flight is considered as long-haul. For example, a flight from Helsinki to Malaga (4 hours 45 minutes) on Finnair will earn you 280 tier points in Business Class return. We used this tip to fly from Sofia to Doha in Qatar Airways which earnt us 280 tier points.

Look out for oneworld partner flight offer and deals: Look for flight offers and deals from BA and partner airlines on premium cabins. As flying on higher cabins will earn you more tier points. There are usually great ex-EU offers on Qatar Airways from £1,200 on offer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like what you’re reading?

Stay in the know, sign-up to the BoardingGroup.One weekly email: